Spotlight Interviews

Personal Trainer Ava Cowan

Personal Trainer Ava Cowan
Avatar

Ava Cowan is an incredibly sexy bikini model and certified personal trainer based in South Florida. Ava has competed in many swimwear competitions and was recently voted one of Miami’s top 100 sexiest models. After several years on hiatus, this curvaceous, athletic talent is getting back into modeling so if you enjoy the interview and photos let her know! CitynetMagazine.com presents Ava Cowan.

Citynet Magazine: Describe your youth.

Ava Cowan: My youth was a little chaotic. But I avoided potential problems by becoming a gymnast at a young age. So I was intensely training as a competitive gymnast for many years. Boys didn’t like me because I was a tomboy and not very cool. I went to an all girls Catholic High School, so that pressure wasn’t there. I was an ugly duckling.

How did you get into modeling?

I began modeling when I was about 20 years old. I only did it for a while, and my look really came together later than most girls. I am the type of woman that gets better with age.

What are you studying?

I am studying to be a social worker. I had to do a lot of soul searching to find out what my calling was. That plus a few years of hard knocks really gives me the depth and compassion that it takes to help others. My modeling doesn’t get in the way of school. I just started taking pictures recently. Before that it had been about six years since I did anything. I even moved from L.A. because I thought that chapter in my life was over.

How did you get into personal training?

After I left LA, I didn’t know what else I wanted to do. I found The Fitness Institute in Boca Raton, and was very impressed with the knowledge base that was required to pass the program. I love a challenge and really it was about graduating, when so many didn’t making it through the whole program.

What does it feel like to be on Miller Genuine Draft posters?

Doing a poster for Miller Genuine draft was great. But I look completely different now. I had long dark hair before, and not nearly as healthy as I am now. So I am really excited to start all over.

What kind of work out routine do you follow?

I am an exercise specialist, so basically I exercise most days of the week for at least an hour. I always do a lot of cardio, but most importantly I do weight bearing exercise to keep my metabolism elevated. I swear by the step mill and stair master. I figure that as long as I am at my optimal heart rate (around 70% of my heart rate max.) I want to work the glutes, legs, and calves as well. So basically, always having a great backside.

What’s your greatest talent?

I am an awesome dancer.

You went from California to Florida. The biggest differences for you?

My life is much simpler now. The ocean is warm and blue here. You can actually go in the water here. The heat is so sexy here. I like both places, and there is probably more work in LA, but Florida is for me.

What’s best part of your job?

Really the best part of my job is that truly knowing what it takes to look good on the outside really takes an inside job. I make myself train even if I don’t want to because I am very competitive, and want to look good. End results: Better skin, better tone, and all around better health.

What has been the worst experience in your job?

The worst experience is when I have been groped by a photographer. I feel taken advantage of and vulnerable. You have to be very centered to weed out the riff raff.

What’s the most common question that people ask you?

“What’s your background?” That is the most common question that I get.

What IS your background?

I am an All-American girl. Dutch / Scottish / French Canadian / Sicilian. Quite diversified.

What do you want the world to know about you?

I want the world to know that I am a real person. I really love my friends, and am a sensitive person.

What’s the greatest risk you have ever taken?

The biggest risk I have ever taken was moving from California to Florida without knowing one person in the state of Florida.

Choose any 3 words to describe yourself.

Loyal, Driven, Empathetic.

Do women get catty around you?

I do have some problems around women. They can really hate you for no apparent reason. I know that it is fear-based, but I get judged, and attractive women have to be twice as nice to be accepted. That is just a fact.

If you could have anything in the world, what would it be?

If I could have anything in the world, I would want a beautiful home with a lot of animals and a garden. A tropical garden.

Favorite place on the planet? Favorite vacation spot?

I don’t have a favorite place on the planet. I really would love to go to some hot tropical island and eat fruit and run around naked… [Webmaster’s note: Wow! Any takers??!!]

Pet peeves?

I do not like dishonesty, cigarette smoke, and loud drunk people.

It’s 12:01am. What are you doing?

It’s 12:01 AM and my night is just getting started. I love the night, I workout, or make something healthy to eat, or surf the web.

Thong vs. regular undies, and why?

I have to say regular undies because they are very cute. But really I prefer none at all.

Favorite body part on men? on your own body?

I love the lower abdominals of a man that is super fit. My favorite part of my body is my lower back.

What kind of men are you attracted to?

I like men that are easy to be with, funny, sexy, fit and they have to be intelligent. I like a man that has lived on the edge, but is now an adult. Not a boy.

A day spa. A flight in a F-15 fighter jet. Passionate animal-like sex. Choose one.

Passionate animal-like sex….it’s been quite a while…yep definitely the sex.

What’s your policy on one night stands?

I don’t have one night stands. I am not saying that I haven’t had any, but it’s just not for me today.

Any secret pleasures?

I just love massages, mineral baths, facials, meditation, and prayer. So as you can see… I need a little action in my life 🙂

Favorite upcoming projects?

I am so new in this business, I am not sure what is next. But I can tell you this…bring it on, because there is no stopping me this time around.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I want to be in that home I mentioned earlier… and probably married. I am single now, but I will probably settle down in 5 years. Then again… you never know. Never the less, I would like to be a recognizable name.

Where are you from/live now?

I live in Fort Lauderdale, Florida…and I am loving it!

Click to add a comment

Reply

Spotlight Interviews
Avatar

This is the general account for various contributors to the magazine.