Spotlight Interviews

TV Host & Entertainment Reporter Andria Lea

TV Host & Entertainment Reporter Andria Lea

Introducing model and TV host Andria Lea! This Kansas City native is beauty and brains! Citynet Magazine proudly presents this exclusive interview with Andria Lea.

Citynet Magazine: Where do you call home?

Andria Lea: I was born in Kansas City, Missouri and currently live just north of there. I have always lived in Missouri with the exception of 4 years in North Carolina. I plan on moving next year, but am not sure where. Hopefully Europe or the mountains. We’ll see!

Tell us about your family life growing up.

My childhood was great. Looking back, I can’t think of anything I wanted that I did not get to have or do. My sister is 3 years older than me and we grew up very close, with the occasional mandatory fight of course, and remain best of friends today. We swam, went to dance lessons, played Atari, owned horses and lots of pets, mopeds, and go carts. We chased the parachute fireworks and built igloos in the snow and made shrinky dinks. We made up silly little girl games, and thanks to my Dad we learned from a very early age how to ham it up for the cameras. We spent Sundays at my grandfather’s for big family get togethers and Italian feasts. My parents are wonderful and provided us with a fantastic childhood. I now have 2 step brothers, 2 half brothers, and a half sister too! My family started expanding when I was in high school and I’m no longer the baby of the family.andria-1

How did you get into modeling?

I started doing pageants as a teenager and did some bikini contests during college. In 2005, I got back into the industry by doing print work, and my modeling and hosting career has been going very well ever since. I have been a busy girl! My full resume can be viewed at my website (www.andrialea.com).

What was your first “big break?”

I guess you could say it was making the top 100 of Maxim Hometown Hotties in 2006. I was in Maxim magazine and on the Covino and Rich Show on Maxim Radio as a result. I gained a lot of exposure from that and industry people were like “who’s that new girl?” Before that I had worked, but was relatively unknown on the Internet and on a national level.

What is it about bikini modeling that excites you?

Definitely traveling to exotic shooting locations. I have been modeled swimwear in Jamaica for TeaseUm, in Spain and Mexico for Ujena, and the Bahamas.

Best experience so far?

Every experience I’ve had has been amazing. I could never choose just one because every trip is completely different. What makes it so special is the friendships that you form in some of the most beautiful places in the world during the fun and creative process of making incredible images. My favorite shoots have been with Maxim En Espanol Magazine and the TeaseUm Bikini Calendar shoots. But I think the best is yet to come.

Any bad times?

I can’t say I have ever had a bad modeling experience. I must be lucky! I hope I never lose my luggage though. That would be a complete nightmare.

You’re currently nominated for several modeling contests. Why are you the best candidate?

I think what makes me a good candidate is that my appeal and talent go much further than my looks. My personality and intelligence have been a big part of my success in this industry. I’m a professional, nice, and considerate person. I rescue animals and take care of people in my job as an ICU nurse. I have good people skills and can represent a company well.

How has being a university educated professional affected your modeling?

The fact that I have a health care career allows me to be very picky in what modeling and hosting jobs I take, as I don’t have to worry about paying my bills with them. I can just have fun with it and the money is an added bonus. I also think being an educated person gives you more common sense and confidence overall, and makes you less likely to fall victim to a scam artist or creep that is out to take advantage of you.

What kind of outdoor activities are you into?

The list never ends! Snowboarding, surfing, wake boarding, riding wave runners, hiking, biking, trail running – you name it. I just love being outdoors and trying new things and enjoying the beauty of nature.

What do you do in your downtime?

What’s downtime, lol? I like to spend time with my pets and family, read, sit in my hot tub, watch reality TV, make scrapbooks, and sleep.

What do you prefer to wear when just hanging out and watching TV?

A t-shirt and some little shorts in the summer, and a big cozy sweatshirt in the winter.

How do you stay fit?

I stay fit by doing lots of cardio and eating a high protein, low carb diet. I try to limit my alcohol and sugar. I rarely do weights anymore because I build muscle very easily, and naturally look like I lift weights even though I don’t. I used to do weights quite a bit and my muscles have a good memory, so now I focus more on cardio and staying lean. In addition to gym workouts, I like to lead an active lifestyle and participate in extreme sports.

What’s the most common question that people ask you?

I often get asked what my ethnicity is. I am 1/4 Sicilian and 1/4 Cherokee Indian, and 1/8 each of German, Polish, English, and Irish.

Name anyone, alive or dead, who you would want to hang out with.

Without a doubt Jesus.

What do you want the world to know about you?

That I am way more than a pretty face. I am the woman you would want to be your best friend or your significant other. That my true beauty is something you can’t see in all those modeling pictures, and I can’t wait to show that side of me to everyone.

Give a shout out to your fans…

Thanks to all of you for your support and encouragement. I hope that I can continue to be an inspiration and entertain you for many years to come.

Favorite upcoming projects?

I have several magazine features coming out in the next few months: Action! Magazine, Maxim En Espanol, BossMan Magazine to name a few. I have also recently started doing television/online hosting for a company called Morf Mobile. I am the MC on a late night Kansas City talk show called After Hours, which airs 7 days a week in the greater Kansas City area. I keep my website current so please check back often to see what I projects I am working on. (www.andrialea.com)

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years, I want to be hosting my own television show or working as an entertainment correspondent, and starting a family. I could also be practicing as a Nurse Anesthetist. I will just have to wait and see what path God leads me down. The possibilities are endless.

Click to add a comment

Reply

Spotlight Interviews

This is the general account for various contributors to the magazine.